French Institutions

Mrs. M.: Persecuted in France After Converting to Christianity

She is Persecuted After her Conversion

By ECLJ1626860176421

Several Islamist terrorists’ attacks have taken place on French soil in recent years. In the shadow of these events, however frequent and violent they were, hides other equally dramatic acts for many French people. Of lower intensity, but more frequent, incivilities and acts of violence in the name of Islam have become a daily reality. The degradation of churches and cemeteries but also attacks, harassment, and insults by radical Muslims are much more frequent and less often brought to light. Yet these incidents are more numerous, regular, and harmful to the lives of hundreds of thousands of French people. In the face of this new reality, the majority restrict their freedom of movement voluntarily. Many endure this violence for a time and end up leaving these places of communal violence, mainly in the suburbs of large French cities. Others would also like to leave but cannot do so for economic reasons.

Among other situations, is the case of Mrs. M., a French woman who lives in the Ile-de-France region and who has been persecuted for years because of her Christian faith by her radical Muslim neighbor. The European Center for Law and Justice (ECLJ) gained access to the records of complaints filed by Mrs. M. since 2017. It turns out that she has been subjected to several acts of violence by the neighbors in her building such as: shouting and screaming, threats, death threats, insults, forced door openings, damages to her mailbox and other personal property, repeated door ringing and street harassment.

The persecution of Mrs. M. has an established religious motive. Like her, her neighbor is originally Moroccan, but he is a Muslim, whereas she has now left Islam and has converted to Christianity. According to the traditional interpretation of the Qur’an and in most Muslim countries, the conversion of a Muslim or their so called “apostasy” is punishable by law, sometimes even by death. The motive of religious persecution was made clear to the victim by the profile of the neighbor as well as by the forms of persecution he exerted towards her which were: acts of contempt, insults such as "traitor" and "miscreant", but also Qur’anic chants that he played at full volume in the middle of the night. This woman and her neighbor have never held a discussion and have no other reason for conflict. Mrs. M. has lived in this low-income building for 20 years, and prior to the arrival of her radical Muslim neighbor five years ago, she had no problems with any other neighbor. The troubles started as soon as her neighbor learned that she was not a Muslim but that she was rather a Christian.

Over a period of five years, Mrs. M. went to the police station more than 15 times to file a complaint or a report regarding the attacks and intimidating behaviors she was receiving. In 2017, for example, her door was covered with raw eggs and broken eggshells covered the floor of her entrance. A few months later, her door was damaged and forcefully opened with a crowbar. Sometime later, her neighbor even followed her in a pickup truck down a private alley to her apartment building, stopping behind her when she stopped and starting up again when she resumed walking. She also learned that this persecuting neighbor is asking other neighbors for personal information about her regarding her place of work, her place of worship, her specific working hour, etc.

The ECLJ was also able to look at several photos taken by Mrs. M. of her damaged entrance door, her tampered with mailbox, as well as of her torn off telephone wirings. Serious destructive behaviors appear in a flagrant way that point to the unhealthy determination of this radical neighbor to inflict harm on Mrs. M.

Ms. M. lives in constant fear of being assaulted and despite her repeated efforts at filing complaints, it was not until 2019 that this neighbor was summoned to the police station only to be “interviewed” in the end. He then threatened her with death a few days later.

Mrs. M.’s friends no longer visit her in her apartment since they have almost all witnessed the aggressiveness of her neighbor. One of her friends was once assaulted and slapped by this neighbor. When she came to visit, this man intercepted her on the stairs to get Mrs. M.'s phone number, ordered her to leave and then hit her in the face while reproaching Mrs. M. for “going to church.”

Like many other people who live in fear of being attacked, Mrs. M. now wears glasses with a camera every time she leaves her apartment, both to feel secure herself and to provide proof if she were to be attacked. She lives in uncontrollable anxiety and in isolation. As a result of her neighbor's violent attacks on her door and his ability to force it open, no friend visits her at her apartment anymore.

Equally worrying and serious is the development of communitarian attitudes among public servants, particularly among the police force. As Mrs. M. has complained frequently, she has noticed a difference in treatment depending on the ethnic and religious background of the police officer who would be recording her complaint. When she told one officer that she was a Christian from a Moroccan origin, he exclaimed: "Moroccan Christian, does that exist?” As a result, Mrs. M. is under the impression that when her complaints were recorded by police officers of North African origin, they were filed without follow-up; whereas when a police officer of French origin recorded a later complaint, he put more diligence and would at least effectively summon the accused neighbor.

Faced with a lack of sufficient support from the police and a lack of support and action from her landlord, Mrs. M. was forced to consider moving out. However, it is her financial difficulties that have slowed down the process of moving because she does not have a permanent work contract. A request for social rehousing with the town hall is underway, but the processing times are long.

This dramatic situation in which Mrs. M. finds herself, persecuted because of her religion by a neighbor who does not fear the police and her inability to leave the premises for economic reasons, calls for action. This lady is far from being the only one to suffer this kind of religious persecution in France. Religious persecution in France was the subject of a recent ECLJ report: "The persecution of ex-Muslim Christians in France" (March 2021), as well as an accompanying video of testimonies (English subtitles available via YouTube). The fight against Islamism must take several forms, because its violence presents itself in a multitude of ways. There are forms of radicalization, recruitment, and acts of terrorism, but also the fight against principles, communitarianism, harassment, and the incivilities that result from it. A new law that reinforces the respect of republican principles may be of interest for specific new offences, but at this stage, it is mainly important to enforce the law that already exists.

 

[i] Nom modifié.

Defend Religious Freedom
Read the full text of the petition

SIGNATURES

Cookies & Privacy

There is no advertising for any third party on our website. We merely use cookies to improve your navigation experience (technical cookies) and to allow us to analyze the way you consult our websites in order to improve it (analytics cookies). The personal information that may be requested on some pages of our website (subscribing to our Newsletter, signing a petition,  making a donation...) is optional. We do not share any of this information we may collect with third parties. You can check here for our privacy & security policy for more information.

I refuse analytics cookies

French Institutions

Mrs M.: Persecuted in France After her Conversion to Christianity

She is Persecuted after her Conversion

By ECLJ1626860176421

This article will be translated soon.

Plusieurs attentats terroristes islamistes ont été perpétrés sur le sol français ces dernières années. Derrière ces événements aussi ponctuels que violents se cache d’autres actes également dramatiques pour de très nombreux français. De plus faible intensité, mais plus fréquents, des incivilités et actes de violence fondés sur l’islam sont une réalité quotidienne. Les dégradations d’églises et de cimetières mais aussi les agressions, le harcèlement et les insultes de la part de musulmans radicaux sont bien plus fréquents et moins souvent mis en lumière. Ils sont pourtant bien plus nombreux, réguliers et nuisent à la vie de centaines de milliers de Français. Face à cela, la majorité restreint d’elle-même sa liberté d’aller et venir. Beaucoup subissent ces violences pour un temps et finissent par quitter ces lieux de violence communautaire, principalement les banlieues des grandes villes françaises. D’autres aimeraient également partir, mais ne peuvent le faire pour des raisons économiques.

Entre autres situations, c’est le cas de Mme M.[i], Française, résidant en Ile-de-France et persécutée depuis des années en raison de sa foi chrétienne par un voisin musulman radical. Le Centre européen pour le droit et la justice a eu accès au dossier des plaintes déposées par cette dame depuis 2017. Il en ressort qu’elle subit de la part d’un couple de voisins de son immeuble : des cris et hurlements, menaces, menaces de mort, injures, crachats, porte forcée, dégradations de sa boîte aux lettres et d’autres biens, sonneries répétées et harcèlement de rue.

La persécution de Mme M. a un motif religieux établi. Comme elle, son voisin est d’origine marocaine, mais il est cependant musulman alors qu’elle a quitté l’islam pour se convertir au christianisme. Selon l’interprétation traditionnelle du Coran et dans la majorité des pays musulmans, la conversion d’un musulman ou son « apostasie » est punie pénalement, parfois même de la peine de mort. Ce motif de persécution religieuse a été formulé clairement à la victime par le voisin ainsi que par les formes de persécution qu’il exerce envers elle : des actes de mépris, des insultes comme « traîtresse » et « mécréante », mais aussi des chants coraniques joués à plein volume au milieu de la nuit. Cette dame et son voisin n’ont jamais discuté ensemble et n’ont pas d’autres motifs de conflits. Cette dame habite depuis 20 ans dans cet immeuble HLM, et préalablement à la venue de ce voisin musulman radical il y a cinq ans, elle n’avait aucun problème particulier avec quelque autre voisin. Les troubles ont commencé dès que son voisin apprit qu’elle n’était pas musulmane mais de confession chrétienne.

En cinq ans, Mme M. s’est rendue à plus de 15 reprises au commissariat de police pour porter plainte ou déposer des mains courantes. En 2017 par exemple, sa porte est recouverte de jaunes d’œufs et les coquilles cassées traînent par terre. Quelques mois plus tard, sa porte est abîmée et ouverte au pied de biche. Quelques temps encore après, son voisin la suit au pas en camionnette dans l’allée privée qui mène à son immeuble, en s’arrêtant derrière elle lorsqu’elle s’arrête et en redémarrant lorsqu’elle reprend sa marche. Elle apprend aussi que ce voisin qui la persécute se renseigne auprès d’autres voisins pour obtenir des renseignements personnels : où travaille-t-elle ? Où va-t-elle au culte ? Quels sont ses horaires de travail ? etc.

L’ECLJ a également pu consulter plusieurs photos prises par cette dame de sa porte d’entrée forcée, de sa boîte aux lettres ouverte et taguée, ainsi que de son câblage téléphonique dans la cage d’escalier arraché. Des dégradations graves apparaissent de manière flagrante et témoignent de la détermination malsaine de ce voisin radical.

Mme M. vit dans la peur de l’agression et malgré ses plaintes répétées, ce n’est qu’en 2019 que ce voisin fut convoqué au commissariat pour être finalement simplement « auditionné ». Il la menaça de mort quelques jours après.

Les amies de cette dame ne lui rendent plus visite dans son appartement dès lors qu’elles ont presque toutes été témoins de l’agressivité du voisin. Une de ses amies a été agressée et giflée par ce voisin. Alors qu’elle venait lui rendre visite, ce monsieur l’intercepta dans les escaliers pour obtenir le numéro de téléphone de Mme M., lui intima l’ordre de partir avant de la frapper au visage tout en reprochant à Mme M. « d’aller à l’église ».

Comme d’autres personnes vivant dans la peur de l’agression, elle porte à présent des lunettes avec caméra dès qu’elle sort de chez elle, tant pour se rassurer que pour prouver une éventuelle agression sur sa personne. Elle vit dans une angoisse évidente et dans une solitude renforcée. Par suite des violentes attaques de son voisin contre sa porte et de sa capacité à l’ouvrir en la forçant, plus aucun ami ne lui rend visite chez elle.

Tout aussi préoccupant et grave est le développement d’attitudes communautaristes dans les services publics, notamment des forces de l’ordre. Comme Mme M. a très souvent porté plainte, elle a pu constater une différence de traitement selon l’origine ethnique et religieuse des policiers enregistrant ses plaintes. Lorsqu’elle fit part de sa religion chrétienne et de ses origines marocaines à l’un de ces agents, celui-ci s’est exclamé : « Chrétienne marocaine, ça existe ça ?! », avant de chercher devant elle sur internet la réponse à sa question. Ainsi, Mme M. a l’impression que lorsque ses plaintes furent enregistrées par des policiers d’origine Nord-africaine, celles-ci furent classées sans suite ; tandis que lorsqu’un policier d’origine française enregistra une plainte ultérieure, celui-ci mis plus de diligence et convoqua au moins effectivement le voisin accusé.

Face à l’absence de réaction suffisante des forces de l’ordre ainsi que l’absence de réaction du bailleur, Mme M. est contrainte de chercher à déménager. Ce sont cependant les difficultés financières qui la freinent car elle n’a pas de CDI. Une demande de relogement social auprès de la mairie est en cours, mais les délais de traitement sont longs.

Cette situation dramatique dans laquelle se trouve Mme M., persécutée en raison de sa religion par un voisin qui ne craint pas la police et qui ne peut quitter les lieux pour des raisons économiques, appelle à agir. Cette dame est loin d’être la seule à subir ce genre de persécution pour motif religieux en France. Cette persécution a fait l’objet d’un rapport de l’ECLJ : « La persécution des chrétiens ex-musulmans en France » (ECLJ, mars 2021), ainsi que d’une vidéo de témoignages. La lutte contre l’islamisme doit prendre plusieurs formes, car sa violence est elle-même pluri-forme. Il y a la radicalisation, le recrutement, le passage à l’acte terroriste, mais aussi la lutte contre les principes, le communautarisme, le harcèlement et les incivilités qui en découlent. Une nouvelle loi qui conforte le respect des principes républicains peut avoir un intérêt pour des infractions spécifiques nouvelles, mais à ce stade, il importe surtout d’appliquer le droit qui existe déjà.

[i] Nom modifié.

Defend Religious Freedom
Read the full text of the petition

SIGNATURES

Cookies & Privacy

There is no advertising for any third party on our website. We merely use cookies to improve your navigation experience (technical cookies) and to allow us to analyze the way you consult our websites in order to improve it (analytics cookies). The personal information that may be requested on some pages of our website (subscribing to our Newsletter, signing a petition,  making a donation...) is optional. We do not share any of this information we may collect with third parties. You can check here for our privacy & security policy for more information.

I refuse analytics cookies